Telling Family

My husband and I wanted to wait until a very special day to break our baby news. And trust me a baby is quite the hard secret to keep. Not because I was busting at the seams with revelry and excitement…more because being sick as crap and flipping exhausted makes me not so fun and I wanted people to know why I was a slug instead of my normal FancyPants self. Anyway, Valentine’s Day is one of my favorite holidays – right between my birthday and Christmas – and it is my hubby’s bday so what better day to tell our parents that we are having a baby.

Well, my brother was told a few days earlier on his bday with a card that said, “Happy Bday Uncle” while it took him a few minutes to ‘get it’ once he did he was very happy-shocked, but happy. He was also given Chicago Cubs pacifiers to keep at his house for our visits 🙂

My Brother-in-law was told with a phone call because he lives out of state. He had some inappropriate, not to be posted on my blog comments LOL. Let’s just say he was excited!

The morning of Valentine’s Day when my husband’s mom called to wish him a Happy Birthday, he told her and the phone was passed to me. I don’t think she really gave a hoot about his bday anymore and consumed herself with questions about the pregnancy. There was a bit of shock when she realized I was 13 weeks, but hey my baby- my info to tell.

When he spoke to his dad on his bday he just blurted it out I suppose and I guess they had some father/ son moment that I am out of the loop on.

For my dad, I invited him over under the guise of celebrating my hubby’s bday with cake and when he came in the house, I unzipped my fleece. He was ecstatic and went into this whole, “Oh I knew it when we went out for your brother’s bday because you didn’t drink” rant.

And for my #1 angel- I wrote in my journal- a sweet lil note to my Mom about how my life was being completely FLIPPED UPSIDE DOWN 🙂

Overall, it made Valentine’s Day that much more special and a special day that we can tell the baby all about!

xoxo

 

Say what???

